What is a ban marie?

A bain-marie, a type of heated bath, is a piece of equipment used in science, industry, and cooking to heat materials gently or to keep materials warm over a period of time. A bain-marie is also used to melt ingredients for cooking.

---

A bain marie is a dish, or pot, that water is put into, it is used in certain kinds of recipes in the kitchen. For example, a custard is made in a dish, and then put into a bain marie, to help it set. Both dishes are put into the oven, one inside the other. Until set.