Where did the killer hornet come from?

Massive, deadly hornets affectionately known as "murder hornets" have been spotted in the U.S. for the first time. The hornets are native to forests and low-altitude mountains in eastern and southeastern Asia, and it is not currently known how they arrived in the U S.