How do earthworms help the soil?

Three ways: First, they eat the organic materials and leave their ... castings ... in the soil as fertilizer. Second, they burrow and leave small tunnels that allow both air and water to enter the soil. Third, they eventually dies and their bodies decay into fertilizer.