Is the third hokage dead?

Minato died in part due to his efforts to protect Konoha and its citizens. As they were dying, they made Hiruzen promise to protect Naruto and regard him as a hero. Hiruzen did put forth an effort to have the village view Naruto as a hero. After all, Naruto had lost so much.