Is string theory a theory?

String theory is a theory of physics that addresses interactions of quantum gravity and is a candidate for the Theory of Everything. Without sufficient evidence to support the theory, it remains a scientific theory.

---

Generally in science, a theory is effectively a fact. The theory of evolution is not a guess or a hypothesis. It's currently understood to be a fact, backed up by evidence from numerous scientific fields spanning many decades. String theory on the other hand seems much more of a guess.