Why does leather mold?

Leather was once on a living cow as the cow' outer skin. Modern leather tanning has prohibited the use of toxic chemicals to tan leather. Mold grows easily on formerly living things. Without toxic chemicals in the tanning mold will grow on leather than is in a darker damp environment.