Who is the tallest person in the planet?

Robert Pershing Wadlow, also known as the Alton Giant and the Giant of Illinois, was a man who was the tallest person in recorded history. But Sultan Kösen (born December 10 1982) is a Turkish farmer who currently holds the Guinness World Record for tallest living male at 8 feet, 2.82 inches.