Why did we have prohibition?

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, rising rates of homicide and domestic abuse caused religious leaders to conclude that the consumption of alcoholic beverages had led to the rise in crime. By 1917, they convinced Congress to ban alcohol through a Constitutional amendment.