What is a lykan?

Lycan is another word for a werewolf. It is short for lycanthrope.

---

The word "Lycan" is derived from the word "lycanthrope," meaning someone who suffers from lycanthropy; "the professed ability or power of a human being to transform into a wolf, or to gain wolf-like characteristics."