What is the alpha quadrant?

The alpha quadrant is one fourth of the MilkyWay Galaxy. It is located in the upper left of the Milky Way.. It is adjacent to the Beta Quadrant and the Gamma Quadrant. one quarter of the galactic core is in the alpha quadrant.