When is the persimmon ripe?

When firm and immature, they contain high levels of tannins that make them astringent and unpalatable. As the fruit ripens, the tannins fade and the flesh becomes sweet and very juicy. A fully ripe Hachiya feels very soft and its flesh has the consistency of dense jelly.