What's the difference between steel cut oats and regular oats?

Old Fashioned are whole oats that are rolled to flatten them. Steel Cut Oats are whole oats that have not been rolled into flakes. Instead, they are cut approximately into thirds. All types are equally nutritious because they supply all parts of the oat grain including the bran, endosperm and germ.