Who invented the chinese fortune cookie?

The origin and history of fortune cookies is hotly debated, one thing is known for sure, fortune cookies originated in the United States. Some say they were invented in San Francisco by Makoto Hagiwara in the 1890s or early 1900s. David Jung from LA also claimed to have invented them in 1918.