Who invented the artificial heart?

Robert Jarvik, MD - The heart was known as the Jarvik-7. The heart was implanted into Dr. Barney Clark on Dec. 2, 1982. He later passed away on March 23, 1983. Cause of death was “circulatory collapse and secondary multi-organ system failure.”