Where is the biggest lake in the world?

The largest lake in the world by a long shot is the Caspian Sea – a name that hints a past when it was contiguous with the ocean around 11 million years ago. This massive saline lake, which is nearly same size as Japan, borders five countries: Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, and Iran.