What is the cruciatus curse?

In the world created by J. J. Rowling where the Harry Potter stories are based the cruciatus curse is also know as torture curse inflicting excruciating pain on a victim. It is one of the three Unforgivable Curses.

---

The Cruciatus Curse (also known as the Torture Curse) is one of the three Unforgivable Curses of the wizarding world. It is a curse of torture, inflicting excruciating pain on a victim.