Is the united states a christian nation?

Many of the United States settlers and founders were Christians, and many of the foundational principles are based on the teachings of the Bible. However, the first amendment to the U.S. Constitution prohibits the government from establishing a state religion. So, the U.S. is not a Christian nation.