How fast is a largemouth bass?

The swimming speed of large-mouth bass has not been studied in depth. For practical purposes, expect bass to swim at speeds up to 2.5 times their body length per second. This means that small fish swim about 2 miles per hour while a 20-inch fish may swim in spurts of up to 12 miles per hour.