How thick should a slice of bread be?

Usually sandwich slices are 3/8 to 1/2 inch thick. French or Texas toast is 7/8 to 1 inch. It is buns and that style bread that required the 1 1/2 inch setting. I base this on the fact almost all industrial slicers only cut from 1/4 to 1 1/2 inch so no one is cutting thicker than that.