Who wrote the independence?

Declaration of Independence was primarily written by Thomas Jefferson, but he was part of a committee that was commissioned to do so. The committee also included Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Roger Sherman and Robert Livingston. It was adopted by congress on July 4, 1776, hence Independence Day.