What is the capital of the u. s. state where the countries deepest lake is located?

Salem. The deepest lake in the U.S. is Crater Lake in Oregon. This lake has a maximum depth of 1,949 feet. Crater Lake began forming when an ancient volcano collapsed about 8,000 years ago, leaving behind a deep, bowl-shaped caldera. The caldera filled with water to form the lake.