When did birds evolve?

Birds evolved from theropod dinosaurs during the Jurassic Period (around 165–150 million years ago), and their classic small lightweight, feathered, and winged body plan was pieced together gradually over tens of millions of years of evolution, rather than in one burst of innovation.