How hot does a curling iron get?

For those with fine or thin hair, keep your iron set below 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Any higher and your strands may burn. For those with coarse or thicker hair, have your curling iron set between 200 degrees and 300 degrees Fahrenheit for optimal curls.