Where does the phrase come hell or high water come from?

The first printed reference comes from an Iowa newspaper, The Burlington Weekly Hawk Eye, dated May 1882: “The devil had broke loose in many parts of the country and keeping up with the old saying, we’ve had unrevised hell and high water, and a mighty heap of high water, I tell you.”