What is the story behind the song driver's license?

On the surface, “Drivers License” is a pop song about a heartbroken teenager watching her ex move on. But at its core, the song represents the lasting power of the teenage heartbreak anthem, for its ability to pull listeners of all ages in, and have you weeping and wailing along to its words.