What is it mean to be a sanctuary state?

There’s no single definition of what is a sanctuary state, but generally speaking, it’s a state that limits its cooperation with federal immigration enforcement agents in order to protect low-priority immigrants from deportation, while still turning over those who have committed serious crimes.