What happens at the end of two thousand one a space odyssey?

Dave manages to survive, stumbles onto Jupiter, and encounters a species of highly advanced beings who try to give him the comforts of the good life. Dave ages in mere moments, goes on a color trail, dies, and is reborn as a star child. That child jettisons toward earth.