Is there such a thing as a black pearl?

Black pearls are made by a variety of the giant black-lipped oyster Pinctada margaritifera. These oysters produce a black-tinted nacre, so the pearls formed wind up gray to black. Black pearls are rare, and it is difficult to farm them.