What does sausage mean?

An item of food in the form of a cylindrical length of minced pork or other meat encased in a skin, typically sold raw to be grilled or fried before eating. Origin late Middle English: from Old Northern French saussiche, from medieval Latin salsicia, from Latin salsus ‘salted’