Who blew up the u. s. s. maine?

Although a mine was blamed for the sinking of the U.s.s. Maine, modern investigations show that the explosion which sank the Maine blew the hull outwards, indicating that it sank after an internal explosion, probably due to how munitions and other cargo were stored below deck.