How do you get t. n. t. in minecraft?

To make TNT, place 5 gunpowder and 4 sand in the 3x3 crafting grid. In the top row place gunpowder, sand, gunpowder. 2nd row place sand, gunpowder, sand. 3rd row place gunpowder, sand, gunpowder.