Why do they call babe ruth babe ruth?

George Herman Ruth Jr. was only 19 when he started playing pro ball. The law stated that Ruth had to have a legal guardian sign his baseball contract, so Jack Dunn, became Ruth's legal guardian. Teammates jokingly called him "Dunn's new babe." The joke stuck, and so did the nickname "Babe" Ruth.