How many pumpkin seeds do you need to grow pumpkin?

One pumpkin seed yields one pumpkin plant, which can grow two to five pumpkins, depending on the growing conditions and variety. They germinate best in soil that's 80 to 85 degrees. Pumpkins dislike the cold, so don't plant pumpkin seeds outside until after all danger of frost has passed.