Why are they called hamburgers?

They are called hamburgers due to them originating in Hamburg Germany

---

The common belief is that the American hamburger borrowed its name from a dish called "Hamburg Style Beef" or "Hamburg Steak" which arrived in the United States from the German city of Hamburg in the 19th century.