What's a ground hornet?

Ground hornets, also known as cicada killers, are one of the largest species of digger wasps in the U.S. They can be up to 2 inches in length and have black bodies that feature yellow markings similar to those of yellow jackets. Unlike other stinging insects, these wasps tend to be more solitary.