Why do they call sloppy joes sloppy joes?

Some attribute the original Sloppy Joe to a cafe in Sioux City, Iowa, where, many years ago, in1930 a cook named Joe added tomato sauce to his “loose meat” sandwiches. Voila: a new between-the-bread offering, and the sandwich's official name.