What does ketchup mean?

Ketchup, spelled k, e, t, c, h, u, p, and also c, a, t, s, u, p, is a table condiment with a sweet and tangy flavor, usually made from the tomato. It is typically used on fast foods such as french fries, hot dogs, hamburgers, and other foods. It is also used in recipes for a hint of tomato flavor.