Can you breathe pure oxygen?

Humans breathe air that is 21 percent oxygen, and require oxygen to live. So one might think that breathing 100 percent oxygen would be good, but actually it can be harmful. Breathing pure oxygen is generally bad, and sometimes even toxic.