What's the most eaten fruit in the world?

The top five most consumed fruits around the world are: Tomatoes, bananas, watermelons, apples, and grapefruit. However, tomatoes and bananas are competing for the title of the world's most popular fruit. In the US, bananas and apples are the most consumed fruits.