What's the most eaten fruit in the world?

The top five most consumed fruits around the world are: Tomatoes, bananas, watermelons, apples, and grapefruit. However, tomatoes and bananas are competing for the title of the world's most popular fruit. In the US, bananas and apples are the most consumed fruits.

---

The most popular fruit in the world is the tomato according to GardenTrivia.com in 2019. Remember that the tomato is botanically classified as a fruit, even though most people think of it as a vegetable.