When did the u. s. census begin?

The first United States Census was in 1790.

---

The US Census of 1790 was the 1st census of the whole United States. It recorded the population of the US as of Census Day, August 2, 1790, as mandated by Article I, Section 2 of the US Constitution & applicable laws. In the 1st census, the population of the United States was numbered at 3,929,214.