How do you get more villagers in animal crossing?

How do you get more villagers in animal crossing? If you want to invite new villagers to your island, talk to Tom Nook in the upgraded Resident Services. Ask him to put land up for sale! The number of new villagers that will arrive will coincide with the number of lots you've put up for sale.