What is pauly dextrose?

Polydextrose is a synthetic polymer of glucose. It is a food ingredient classified as soluble fiber by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. It is frequently used to increase the dietary fiber content of food, to replace sugar, and to reduce calories and fat content.