Do people eat giraffes?

An article in NewYork Magazine from 2014 says that giraffe meat can be legally obtained in the United States and in Africa. A few restaurants and chefs have offered giraffe meat. According to a review in the Boston Phoenix, giraffe meat had a " melt in your mouth" quality.