What is buterate?

Butyrate is a salt form of butyric acid. The acid form, also known as butanoic acid, is a straight-chain alkyl carboxylic acid with the chemical formula CH₃CH₂CH₂CO₂H. It is an oily, colorless liquid with an unpleasant odor.