Why is wonder woman called wonder woman?

It's a catchy name like Superman, but they couldn't use Superwoman and tie her to Superman. Her official name is Princess Diana of Themyscira, Daughter of Hippolyta. She was created out of clay and brought to life by the gods of Olympus. Her secret identity is Diana Prince.