Why is french toast called french toast?

The name “french toast" was first used in 17th-century England. The recipe — and name — were brought to America by early settlers. In France, the dish is called “pain perdu," meaning “lost bread."

---

According to legend, it was an Albany New York innkeeper named Joseph French. He supposedly created the dish in 1724, and advertised it as "French Toast," because his grammar skills were poor, and he forgot the apostrophe.