What happened to the dog on last man standing?

The Baxters got a dog in the early seasons, but, like many characters on the show, nobody really knows where little Muffin went since that time. Tim Allen joked that one day he let his 4-legged friend outside, & Muffin never came back. Muffin was a Maltese played by two dog actors, Teddy and Freddy.