Who built the original batmobile?

In 1955, the Lincoln division of Ford Motor Company designed and built a concept car called the Lincoln Futura. It was built entirely by hand in Turin, Italy at a cost of $250,000. In 1966 it was customized into the famous Batmobile by George Barris.