How do you become a national merit scholar?

There are three main requirements for entering the National Merit Scholarship Program: Take the PSAT NMSQT when you are in high school grades 9 through 12. Be enrolled as a high school student Be a US citizen, lawful permanent resident, or planning to become a citizen as soon as possible.