Why is duck sauce called duck sauce?

The name "duck sauce" was created in the United States because this sauce was originally served with deep-fried pressed duck, which had no sauce of its own. Duck sauce became popular as a dip for any food — from spareribs and egg rolls to almost anything else imaginable.